ESCom Community

ESCom is an inclusive and open community with a wide constituency spread across Scotland. We have members and partners from across National Government, local authorities, government agencies, research organisations and universities, NGO's and private sector companies, including SME's.  

ESCom Central

ESCom Central is the governing body of ESCom.  Chaired by Dr Marc Metzger, University of Edinburgh, and Dr Jan Dick, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology,  ESCom Central exists to help facilitate outreach and knowledge exchange, and to ensure that ESCom thrives as an inclusive network representative of science, policy and practice. 

ESCom Central Staff


Marc Metzger, University of Edinburgh (marc.metzger@ed.ac.uk)

Jan Dick, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (jand@ceh.ac.uk)

Communications Officer

Abi Gardner, University of Edinburgh (agardner022@gmail.com)


Alessandro Gimona, James Hutton Institute – (Alessandro.Gimona@hutton.ac.uk)

Kirsty Blackstock, James Hutton Institute - (kirsty.blackstock@hutton.ac.uk)

Michal Petr, Forest Research – (michal.petr@forestry.gsi.gov.uk)

Chloe Bellamy, Forest Research – (chloe.bellamy@forestry.gsi.gov.uk)

Alison Hester, James Hutton Institute - (alison.hester@hutton.ac.uk)

Alistair McVittie, Scotland’s Rural College - (Alistair.mcvittie@sruc.ac.uk)

Joanna Drewitt, Scottish Government –  (Joanna.Drewitt@scotland.gsi.gov.uk)

ESCom Partners

The following organisations and projects actively support ESCom through membership of ESCom Central and, in some cases, by providing financial support for activities.